Itchenor Sailing Club Swallows

Swallow Class Description

The Swallow Class

  • The Swallow is a classic 3-person one-design keelboat
  • More than 30 Swallows make up the Itchenor fleet.
  • A classic designed for the 1948 Olympic Games, the modern Swallow has evolved as a thoroughly up-to-date racing boat. Fast, simple and beautiful, the Swallow is very successfully sailed by mixed crews
  • Three or more races every weekend from April to October, provides regular and very competitive racing
  • In addition, Swallow events include half a dozen Trophy weekends, the Swallow National Championships on open water, and the very popular August Points Week for all three Itchenor keelboat classes
  • Swallows have raced as a Class in every Cowes Week since 1948

Designed by Tom Thorneycroft for the 1948 Olympic Games in which the sailing events were held in Torbay.  The Swallow was the two man  keelboat and the Gold Medal was won by Itchenor yachtsman Stewart Morris.

The Original boats were conventionally built in wood, progressing through an era of cold moulded Mahogany diagonal planking through to the GRP boats of today.  During transition a number of boats have retained the original wood and lead ballast keels.

Although designed for a crew of two they are more frequently sailed three up.  The Swallow fleet races three times weekly through the season of March to October at Itchenor with Annual National Championships attracting visitors from our sister fleet at Aldeburgh.

In 2010 a new sail plan was trialled and adopted and Haines have provided several boats with revised sail control systems designed to take the best advantage of the modern materials.

The Swallow is a light displacement planing hull and maintaining minimum weight is crucial to remaining competitive.  The boats are kept afloat on moorings and require antifouling paint which if allowed to build successive thicknesses can add considerable weight.